Thursday, 26 January 2012

Are Night Clubs really all their cracked up to be?

Being a student consists of many things. Working, meeting new people, experimenting, having fun, drinking and most of all going out. As a generation we young people are told that night clubs are cool, fun and make for the best nights out. But I challenge this universal fact. What really is so good about night clubs?
Firstly I'll outline a standard student night out (from a girls perspective). A very important part of any night out is "pre-drinking" at someones house or flat. Pre-drinking's main purpose is so that you feel a bit drunk before you even go out, and also its a lot cheaper to get fucked off a £3 bottle of cheap wine than to buy 7 vodka cokes in a club at £2 each. But be warned, pre-drinking is a skill. Get too drunk and you wont get into a club, and stay too sober and you'll end up spending a lot of money and have a bit of a shit night. Then after you are all (I'm hoping you go out with friends, and FYI boys there's nothing weirder than a loner creep stalking girls in a club on his on, I mean at least bring a stalker friend) suitably wasted you head to a club. 
Now I'm not denying that clubs are fun and yes I have had many a good night in them, but I think they are definitely over rated. Let me explain.
1. The music in clubs 90% of the time is shit. Its either gangster rap which seems to make girls think their flipping Beyonce and start grinding everyone and everything, or cheesy pop where you have to bop along to some shitty boy band and then use all your willpower not to sing along to S Club 7's "Reach for the Stars" despite you knowing all the words.
2. Clubs are rank. Fact. Their smelly, dark, slippy and sticky (yes I'm still talking about clubs here, calm down) and all seem to have hundreds of stairs! I genuinely cant think of a club that has no stairs, which is an obvious death trap when your fucked out of your mind and wearing 6 inch heels. 
3. The bar queues! I think all managers of clubs should be fired. They obviously don't realise that there will be more than 10 people wanting drinks that night and therefore need to put on more than 3 bar staff for the entire club. You have to wait 30 mins in a packed queue feeling like the fish caught in the net in Finding Nemo, to be served by some bimbo who cant work the till and takes 5 minutes to make one vodka mixer. 

There are many more reasons why I don't like clubs, however I am extremely tired and want to get this posted tonight so I won't bore you with anymore. Thanks for reading my rant, and if you agree, laughed or even had a cheeky smile I'm happy. Also then you have to follow my blog, its like the law. Thanks!

Sunday, 15 January 2012

Late night losing weight post

I always seem to end up writing and posting blogs late at night or in the wee hours of the morning. I'm very much a night person and this is getting me into a bad habit of staying up late and sleeping until the afternoon, which is going to be a nightmare when I go back to uni and have 9am lectures.
I thought I would write a post about one of my new years resolutions which is losing weight. Now, I don't want to make this a boring standard weight loss post. I just wanted to state that from now I am seriously going to try to lose weight. I'll write the odd post and keep it updated on how I'm doing, as I know so many people struggle to lose weight. I've decided this is also going to be an experiment and I'm going to try out lots of different ways and advice there is out there for weight loss, and hopefully find the ones that actually work. When I read information on the internet I never know whether to believe it or not, so I'm going to try to be the average person with hands on experience that hopefully people can relate to.
Well that's all for now, I better try and go to bed (apparently having enough sleep really helps weight loss, well I think I'll be the judge of that). Oh and also one last thing, in my second post about girls and make up I realise I come across as a bit crazy. I'm really normally not like that honest, I'm actually pretty laid back in general, I was just having a bad day and felt a rant was needed.

Friday, 13 January 2012

Proving something can be funny yet depressing at the same time

I saw this in a sport shop yesterday. It's just wrong in so many ways. I mean what's next Buckfast in their bottles? And they wonder why the criminal offending age is progressively getting younger.


Seriously Girls, Enough with the Make Up Already

As a female I have noticed the increasing dependent relationship between girls and their make up, especially on nights out. Now every woman takes some make up when she goes out. Some powder, a lipstick, maybe some eyeliner at a push, but that's it. That is all a normal women needs. The women who carry the entire MAC make up counter around with them in their bag, this post is aimed at you. Yes, you. The women who go to the bathroom at every opportunity and reapply their entire make up, take up all the room and have their lotions and potions spread over the place. These are the women that piss me off, and this is for a number of reasons.
Firstly, you've probably just spent over 3 hours applying the stuff. You've been slapping on your extra-firming, super tightening, magic radiance foundation so you now resemble finding nemo (orange with white strips round the edges) and rubbing lumps of coal on your eyes to achieve what you think is the dark, mysterious look, when in actual fact you just look like a badly paid hooker. You do not need anymore on your face.
Secondly, in nightclubs no one cares. Nobody cares if your mascara or foundation has rubbed off, believe me covering up streaky foundation is not going to improve you and turn you into Jennifer Aniston. Its make up, not magic. Everyone is too busy having a good time, dancing, and most people will be so fucked they wont care or remember. I can't imagine somebody waking up rough as hell the next morning and saying "How did I get home last night? and where did these bruises come from? Fuck I don't remember anything from last night... apart from that girls awful make up!" Also it tends to be dark in nightclubs.Why are you sorting something nobody can see. And don't say "its not about what other people say, it makes me feel better". Bullshit.You don't put on loads of make up when your just a home on your own, you just deal with looking like a train wreck.
Thirdly, its such a waste of time. Put your make up on before you go out and be done with it. Actually spend time in the club dancing, drinking and having fun! Not wasting your night gluing your slag lashes back on.

You now will spot these girls when your out, believe me you'll be struggling to get past them in the fecking bathroom.
I'm sorry about this rant and I realise this wont apply to the majority of women that read this, as the type of people it does apply too probably won't see it unless cosmo publish it.

Saturday, 8 October 2011

Steve Jobs

I pondered for a while wondering what my first post should be about. Technology, fashion, the media? However as soon as I heard the news about Steve Jobs I knew I has my answer. Steve Jobs was an incredible man and not only my inspiration but an inspiration to millions of people worldwide. This post is in dedication to him and his message to the world. Starting Apple at the age of 20 in his garage with a friend was a brave and daring business decision, which proved to pay off as in 2 years Apple was a billion dollar company. Steve Jobs has always said that you have to do what your passion is in life, as you must "do what you love". Even after being fired from Apple, his own company which he had put his heart and sole into he didn't give up. He started 2 new companies, one being Pixar which produced the first every full computer animated film Toy Story. The other was called Next, which developed the first Ipod technology and was eventually bought by Apple, meaning Steve Jobs was back where he started. He has said "getting fired from Apple was the best thing that ever happened to me". He has talked about how the idea of death was motivating to him, and that everyday he thought to himself "if this was my last day, is this what I want to be doing?" And if the answer was no he knew he had to make a change. I think this is a fantastic way of thinking and this advice really resonated with me. He is evidence of his own sound advice. Who hasn't heard of Apple? Who hasn't watched at least one Pixar film? His impact on the world was I think the biggest and most influential of anyone in the last 30 years.  His message to the world was do what you love, and I don't think there is any better advice than that. My thoughts and condolences are with his family and friends at this time. His untimely death really was a tragic loss to society and he will be sorely missed.